AA – Attendance Allowance

ACL – Adult and Community Learning

ACPC – Area Child Protection Committee (Multi-agency group which develops and monitors child protection procedures/policy.)

ASIST – Advocacy Services in Staffordshire

ASW – Approved Social Worker

BFT – Behavioural Family Therapy

BME – Black and Minority Ethnic

CA – Carers Allowance (Carers Benefit) or Carers Assessment

CAB – Citizens Advice Bureau or Carers Advisory Board (Carers Committee at CASS)

CASS – Carers Association Southern Staffordshire

CAW – Carers Assessment Worker (mental health)

CBF – Carers Breaks Fund

CC – County Commissioner (local authority post)

CCETSW – Central Council for Education and Training in Social Work

CCA – Community Care Assessment

CDW – Community Development Worker

CiN – Children in Need

CLLP – Carers Learning and Leisure Project (CASS)

CPA – Care Programme Approach

CPN – Community Psychiatric Nurse

CQC – Care Quality Commission (Regulate, inspect and review all adult social care services in the public, private and voluntary sectors in England

CRB – Criminal Records Bureau

CSW – Carers Support Worker

CVS – Council for Voluntary Service

DAAT – Drug and Alcohol Action Team

DD – District Director (local authority post)

DDA – Disability Discrimination Act

DLA – Disability Living Allowance

DoH – Department of Health

EO – Equal Opportunities

FT – Foundation Trust (NHS)

FTE – Full Time Equivalent

GOWM – Government Office West Midlands

IC – Intermediate Care

IDAS – Integrated Drug and Alcohol Service

IIP – Investors in People

ICMHT – Integrated Community Mental Health Team

IS – Income Support

JCU – Joint Commissioning Unit

JSNA – Joint Service Needs Assessment

Keyworker – Person who has lead responsibility for working with a client

LA – Local Authority

LAA – Local Area Agreement

LD – Learning Disability

LDPB – Learning Disability Partnership Board

LDG – Local Development Group

LINk – Local Involvement Network

LSC – Learning and Skills Councils (Responsible for funding and planning education and training for over 16-year-olds in England.)

LSP – Local Strategic Partnership

MH – Mental Health

MHW – Mental Health Worker

NICE – National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence

NIMHE – National Institute Mental Health England

NSCA – North Staffs Carers Association

NSF – National Service Frameworks

NVQs – National Vocational Qualifications

OPPB – Older Persons Partnership Board

OT – Occupational Therapist

OW – Outreach Worker

PALS – Patient Advice & Liaison Service

PB – Partnership Board

PBC – Practice Based Commissioners

PCT – Primary Care Trust

PD – Physical Disability

PDSS – Post Diagnosis Support Service

PEC – Professional Executive Committee

PHCT – Primary Health Care Team

PIs – Performance Indicators measure how a service is doing

PPI – Patient and Public Involvement (in Health)

PQASSO – Practical Quality Assurance System for Small Organisations

PRTC – Princess Royal Trust for Carers

QA – Quality Assurance

R&D – Research & Development

SAMHPB – Staffordshire Adult Mental Health Partnership Board

SCC – Staffordshire County Council

SC&H – Social Care and Health (formerly Social Services)

SCIE – Social Care Institute for Excellence

SCIO – Staffordshire & Stoke-on-Trent Consortium of Infrastructure Organisations

SD – Sensory Disability

SDVS – Stafford District Voluntary Services

SEN – Special Educational Needs

SLA – Service Level Agreement

SMT – Senior Management Team

SS&SFT – South Staffordshire and Shropshire Foundation Trust

STAR – Support Time and Recovery Workers

Statement – Assessment Decision of Special Educational Needs Status

SU – Service User

SW – Social Worker

SWSPCT – South West Staffs Primary Care Trust (NHS)

TGCY – Take Good Care of Yourself

TUPE – The Transfer of Undertakings (Protection of Employment) Regulations 1981

VCO – Voluntary or Community Organisation

VO – Volunteer Organiser

WTW – Welfare to Work

YC – Young Carer

Y&C – Youth & Community

YPD – Younger People with Dementia (under 65)